George Winokur Clinical Research Paper Award

The AACP established its Clinical Research Award in 1979, which is presented to the author of the best original research paper published in Annals of Clinical Psychiatry during the previous calendar year. The Award is presented at the AACP annual meeting and includes a cash prize, engraved award, complimentary one-year membership to the AACP, plus travel and accommodations to attend the annual meeting. The AACP’s Research Award Committee is responsible for making the selection.

2020 George Winokur Clinical Research Award
Laura Madson, Ph.D.

Effectiveness of mindfulness-based stress reduction in a community sample over 2 years

The American Academy of Clinical Psychiatrists 2019 George Winokur Research Award has been awarded to Laura Madson, Ph.D. for research which was published in 2018 in the Annals of Clinical Psychiatry February issue. Dr. Madson will be presented the award at the AACP Annual Conference (Psychiatry Update 2020) March 27, 2020, in Chicago. (For further information go to

Dr. Madson’s research article is titled “Effectiveness of mindfulness-based stress reduction in a community sample over 2 years”, Annals of Clinical Psychiatry/Vol. 30, No. 1/February 2018. Although numerous studies have demonstrated that mindfulness-based stress reduction (MBSR) improves clinical and non-clinical outcomes, few studies have followed MBSR participants for >12 months, and few have analyzed post-intervention home practice.

METHOD: A community sample of 247 self-referred adults was followed for 2 years after completion of an 8-week MBSR program. Dependent variables, including self-reported anxiety, depression, perceived wellness, mindfulness, and duration and frequency of continued home practice, were measured before and after the program and every 6 months after.

RESULTS: Participants reported significantly improves symptoms of depression and anxiety, increased perceived wellness, and increased mindfulness after the 8-week intervention compared with pre-intervention reports. These improvements persisted for 2 years. Correlations between post-intervention home practice and mindfulness indicated that individuals who continued to practice, developed greater mindfulness, which was associated with improved mental health and wellness.

CONCLUSIONS: Participants who completed the MBSR program reported significant improvements in anxiety, depression, perceived wellness, and mindfulness during the program.

Dr. Madson joined the faculty of the Psychology Department at New Mexico State University in August of 1996. She was hired for her interest and expertise in teaching and teaching remains her emphasis. She specializes in teaching Introduction to Psychology using a teaching paradigm called Team-Based Learning. She typically teaches 300-400 Introduction to Psychology students every academic year. She has written a textbook specifically for use in her team-based learning Intro Psych classes: Psychology for Everyday Life. She also offers workshops on team-based learning for the NMSU Teaching Academy. She has been an Associate Professor at New Mexico State University since 2005, and, was promoted to Professor in August 2019.

Dr. Madson received her Ph.D. in Social Psychology, and an M.S. in Social Psychology from from Iowa State University, and a B.A. in Psychology and English from Luther College. Teaching awards and honors include the 2018 NMSU Teaching Academy Outstanding Mentor Award, the 2017 NMSU Teaching Academy Fellow, and the Donald C. Roush Award for Teaching Excellence. When she is not working, Dr. Madson spends time with her family and “critters”, and, participates in various triathlons.


George Winokur Research Award Committee Chair
Carol S. North, M.D., M.P.E.
The Altshuler Ctr. for Education & Research Metrocare
(214) 743-1200

George Winokur Award Committee:
Carol S. North, M.D., M.P.E.
Richard Balon, M.D., Wayne State University
James Wilcox, M.D., Ph.D., Seattle, WA
Stacey Smith, M.D., St. Louis, MO

Please contact Beverly Davidson, Executive Director, AACP, for further information at, or call (920) 395-2330.


George Winokur Clinical Research Award Winners



Committee Chair

David Kupfer, MD
Mark Gold, MD Charles L. Rich, MD
Larry E. Tune, MD
James R. Morrison, MD
Robert E. Smith, MD
Louis Hafken, MD
Hagop S. Akiskal, MD
Henry A. Nasrallah, MD Louis Hafken, MD
Sheldon H. Preskorn, MD
Larry Kirstein, MD Louis Hafken, MD
Ming T. Tsuang, MD, PhD
Gary Tollefson, MD, PhD Louis Hafken, MD
Elizabeth B. Weller, MD
Hector C. Fabelli, MD, PhD Louis Hafken, MD
Natraj Sitaram, MD
Matig Mavissakalian, MD Louis Hafken, MD
Dennis S. Charney, MD
Arnold L. Lieber, MD Louis Hafken, MD
Michael Liebowitz, MD
Harry E. Gwirtsman, MD Louis Hafken, MD
Ronald A. Weller, MD
Joyce G. Small, MD Charles L. Rich, MD
Conrad M. Swartz, MD
Timothy D. Brewerton, MD Valerie F. Holmes, MD
Conrad M. Swartz, MD
Valerie F. Holmes, MD
Douglas Finestone, MD
Ira Glick, MD Valerie F. Holmes, MD
Roy T. Mathew, MD
Stephen C. Olsen, MD Valerie F. Holmes, MD
Elizabeth M. Smith, PhD
Valerie F. Holmes, MD
Joesph Magliozzi, MD (co-winner)
John Lauer, MD (co-winner)
Paul M. Packman, MD
Laura Sanchez, MD
Paul M. Packman, MD
Mary Fristad, PhD
Paul M. Packman, MD
Danielle S. Schneider, MD
Donald W. Black, MD
Donald W. Black, MD
Donald W. Black, MD
Sidney Zisook, MD
Donald W. Black, MD
Eric Lenze
Donald W. Black, MD
Liviu Ichim MD
Donald W. Black, MD
Paul J. Perry PhD
Donald W. Black, MD
Betty Pfefferbaum, MD
Donald W. Black, MD
(No Award Presented)
Matig Massavikalian, MD
Carol S. North, MD
Pinhas Nedim Dannon, MD
Carol S. North, MD
Keith E. Isenberg, MD
Carol S. North, MD
Ahsan Y. Khan, MD
Carol S. North, MD
George I. Papakostas, MD
Carol S. North, MD
Susan K. Schultz, MD
Doreen Granpeesheh, PhD, BCBA-D
Carol S. North, MD
Alina Suris, PhD, ABPP
Carol S. North, MD
Donald Black, MD
Carol S. North, MD
Boaz Levy, PhD
Carol S. North, MD
Alina Suris
Carol S. North, MD
Mark Zimmerman
Carol S. North, MD
William Lawson, MD, PhD
Carol S. North, MD
Keith E. Isenberg, MD
Carol S. North, MD
Gus Zhang, MD
Carol S. North, MD
Laura Madson, PhD
Carol S. North, MD