George Winokur Clinical Research Paper Award


The American Academy of Clinical Psychiatrists 2015 George Winokur Research Award has been awarded to Alina Suris, PhD, ABPP, for research which was published in the February 2013 issue of Annals of Clinical Psychiatry. Dr. Suris will be presented the award at the AACP Annual Conference in Chicago, April 17, 2015.

Dr. Suris’ research article is titled “Interfering with the reconsolidation of traumatic memory: Sirolimus as a novel agent for treating veterans with posttraumatic stress disorder,” Annals of Clinical Psychiatry, Vol. 25 No. 1/February 2013.

Dr. Suris, a Board Certified Clinical Psychologist, is the Chief of Psychology and Supervisor of the Mental Health Trauma Services Team at the VA North Texas Health Care System in Dallas, and an Associate Professor of Psychiatry at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center. She has extensive experience in the assessment and treatment of veterans with PTSD and other psychiatric disorders through her clinical work and conducts funded research studies at the Dallas VA Medical Center.

Dr. Suris has worked as a clinician/researcher on multiple research projects, beginning with a small grant from NIMH to study treatment for women veterans with sexual trauma. She has received two NARSAD Young Investigator awards, funding from the National Institute of Health (NIMH) for pilot work in PTSD, Blue Gator funding (private foundation) for novel interventions for PTSD, as well as VA funding (Merit Reviews, Young Investigator Veterans Service Integrated Network 17 (VISN 17) funding, and VISN 17 funding). She is interested in finding ways to reduce illness burden and increase the quality of life for people with PTSD from multiple sources (combat, sexual trauma, etc.) by examining the most effective treatments for PTSD, whether by testing existing evidence-based treatments in new populations or creating/examining novel interventions to augment existing treatments.

She has received recognition and numerous awards including two nominations for teacher of the year by University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center psychiatry students; she was named outstanding researcher by the VA section of Psychologists in Public Service of the American Psychological Association; and she has received the Outstanding Woman Award for Leadership at the Dallas Veterans Affairs Medical Center twice. She also recently received the prestigious Gerald R. Klerman NARSAD Young Investigator Award, an award given for outstanding clinical research achievement by a NARSAD Young Investigator.

The AACP established its Clinical Research Award in 1979. Original unpublished papers were solicited in the Annals of Clinical Psychiatry. In 1992, the format was changed to include all original research papers published in the Annals of Clinical Psychiatry.

Winners are selected annually from original research published during the calendar year. The Award is presented at the annual Academy conference each year and includes a cash prize, engraved award, a complimentary 1-year AACP, plus travel and accommodations to attend the conference. Judging is conducted by the Academy’s Research Award Committee headed by Carol North, MD.

Winokur Research Award Committee Chairperson
Carol S. North, MD
University of Texas, SW Medical Center
4500 South Lancaster Road
Dallas, TX 75216
Phone: 214-648-5378

Winokur Award Committee
Carol North, MD, Chair
Betty Pfefferbaum, MD, JD, University of Oklahoma
Nagy Youssef, MD, Durham VA Medical Center
Richard Balon, MD, Wayne State University

Please contact Beverly Davidson, AACP Executive Director, for further information at

George Winokur Clinical Research Award Winners



Committee Chair

David Kupfer, MD
Mark Gold, MD Charles L. Rich, MD
Larry E. Tune, MD
James R. Morrison, MD
Robert E. Smith, MD
Louis Hafken, MD
Hagop S. Akiskal, MD
Henry A. Nasrallah, MD Louis Hafken, MD
Sheldon H. Preskorn, MD
Larry Kirstein, MD Louis Hafken, MD
Ming T. Tsuang, MD, PhD
Gary Tollefson, MD, PhD Louis Hafken, MD
Elizabeth B. Weller, MD
Hector C. Fabelli, MD, PhD Louis Hafken, MD
Natraj Sitaram, MD
Matig Mavissakalian, MD Louis Hafken, MD
Dennis S. Charney, MD
Arnold L. Lieber, MD Louis Hafken, MD
Michael Liebowitz, MD
Harry E. Gwirtsman, MD Louis Hafken, MD
Ronald A. Weller, MD
Joyce G. Small, MD Charles L. Rich, MD
Conrad M. Swartz, MD
Timothy D. Brewerton, MD Valerie F. Holmes, MD
Conrad M. Swartz, MD
  Valerie F. Holmes, MD
Douglas Finestone, MD
Ira Glick, MD Valerie F. Holmes, MD
Roy T. Mathew, MD
Stephen C. Olsen, MD Valerie F. Holmes, MD
Elizabeth M. Smith, PhD
  Valerie F. Holmes, MD
Joesph Magliozzi, MD (co-winner)
John Lauer, MD (co-winner)
  Paul M. Packman, MD
Laura Sanchez, MD
  Paul M. Packman, MD
Mary Fristad, PhD
  Paul M. Packman, MD
Danielle S. Schneider, MD
  Donald W. Black, MD
Donald W. Black, MD
  Donald W. Black, MD
Sidney Zisook, MD
  Donald W. Black, MD
Eric Lenze
  Donald W. Black, MD
Liviu Ichim MD
  Donald W. Black, MD
Paul J. Perry PhD
  Donald W. Black, MD
Betty Pfefferbaum, MD
  Donald W. Black, MD
(No Award Presented)
Matig Massavikalian, MD
  Carol S. North, MD
Pinhas Nedim Dannon, MD
  Carol S. North, MD
Keith E. Isenberg, MD 
  Carol S. North, MD
Ahsan Y. Khan, MD 
  Carol S. North, MD
George I. Papakostas, MD 
  Carol S. North, MD
Susan K. Schultz, MD 
Doreen Granpeesheh, PhD, BCBA-D
  Carol S. North, MD
Alina Suris, PhD, ABPP
  Carol S. North, MD
Donald Black, MD
  Carol S. North, MD
Boaz Levy, PhD
  Carol S. North, MD
Alina Suris
  Carol S. North, MD
Our Mission